Resealing timber hull

Any questions? We will try and help.
glennr

Resealing timber hull

Postby glennr » 06 Sep 2011, 22:27

Hey Guys just after some info on restoring my old everingham ski boat ( i think ) and i was hoping to keep it all timber look hull and all, ive been removing the old paint and the timber is coming up very nicely so would be a shame to paint over although white would look very nice too, can anyone tell me how to seal in between the planks before finishing and some good products to seal the planks then seal the timber?

thanks for any help would be appreciated, Glenn

hookster

Re: Resealing timber hull

Postby hookster » 07 Sep 2011, 04:51

Hi Glenn I'm only a novice at this game but I did what all novices do and I asked the same questions you are asking. The product I used to varnish the planks is Feast Watson Spar Marine Varnish, available from Bunnings for about $100 per 4 litre tin. It ticks all the right boxes: Allows for timber movement, UV protection built in etc. As for sealing between the weatherboards, mine was pretty tight anyway, but I did run a bead of black marine sicaflex along the joint for the bottom few planks. Everyone seems to have their own opinions on this issue, but this seems to be the most widely used. Cheers, Jon.

mikey123

Postby mikey123 » 07 Sep 2011, 14:13

Hi Glenn

I also removed all the paint from my plywood clinker hull savage recently. I'm also a novice, but the experts told me to rake out all joint below the waterline with an angled tungsten carbide scraping tool, to leave an obvious 'V' shaped groove. Then seal all with a bead of sikaflex.
I only did this below the waterline, and I repainted with two coats of yacht primer, two coats of prekote and three coats of toplac below the waterline also.
Above the waterline I left natural timber, and will finish with International Goldspar Premium Marine gloss varnish.