Skimaster Build

Any questions? We will try and help.
ian43ktm

Skimaster Build

Postby ian43ktm » 14 Feb 2015, 23:08

Hi all. I'm fairly new here. I've started to build a boat and thought there may be some interest here. I also hope to get some advice from those with more experience than me. I've never built a boat before , but have building experience mainly with steel framed structures. So I'm reasonably handy on the tools. I have a good plan and must thank Piquet (Peter) very much for sending his plan for me to copy. I've made a start on the frames and will try to put some pics up as the build progresses. One thing I have learnt already is that I have much to learn. I didn't know much about the waterproofing and epoxy adhesives . I've found some advice/help from boatcraft here in Brisbane in regard to the wood part of the build . If anyone has contacts in Brisbane/Ipswich area for the engine ,propshaft ,rudder and steering ect I haven't organized anything there yet. Obviously this won't be a quick process so I'll post things as it moves along. I would describe it as a skeleton frame with a ply hull and deck . I'd like a plank finish on the deck in a laminate with a varnish or clear top coat/sealer. Very early stages at the moment so until I have bought materials I reserve the right to change my mind. That's were your advice will be appreciated most , in the decision making process. There's a couple of changes I want to make to the plan. The ski pole on the plan is mounted at the back of the engine , in front of the back seat. The problem I see there is the risk of decapitating the rear seat passengers . Now I realize they should be paying attention to the skiers but taking their heads off is a bit severe a punishment for inattention. I want to mount it behind the rear seat so will need to strengthen/brace that area , which may be a problem for the fuel tank because that is where the plan has it. I was thinking of moving the fuel tank to the front of the boat. An