tips for removing deck and sides

Any questions? We will try and help.
markh5000

tips for removing deck and sides

Postby markh5000 » 04 Mar 2013, 11:39

Hi all, I have an older 16ft bondwood ski boat that I am about to begin to restore. First task is to remove the deck, which is nailed and, presumably, glued. Second, at some point she has been patched in the forward half of the starboard side, so I am hoping to entirely replace that bit of ply.

So, I was wondering whether anyone had any tips to R & R those bits, especially those tips that might prevent it from ending in an "epic fail" entry onto youtube... :oops:

I have plenty of car body repair experience, but sadly not much in the plywood stakes - not yet, anyway!

Cheers, and thanks in anticipation.

Mark

Damo

Re: tips for removing deck and sides

Postby Damo » 04 Mar 2013, 18:44

Hey Mark,
I am currently restoring a Bondwood hull boat myself and will be only too happy to help any way I can. With regards to hull repairs I skarf and epoxy my repairs in which seem to give excellent results(So Far :) ). You can see some of my progress under - 16ft Boesch Design Restoration. With regards to removing the deck mine was F$^&@d :( so I just reefed it off without much care :oops: . In hindsight I would have taken a bit more time to try to find out any sort of history about the boat maker as at this stage I dont really know anything, Good Luck!!!!!

RightyO

Postby RightyO » 04 Mar 2013, 20:18